• Welcome to Elio Owners! Join today, registration is easy!

You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

Committed In Bakersfield, Ca

MotorcycleKopp

Elio Aficionado
Reaction score
After weeks of getting caught up & researching everything I could find on the web regarding the Elio, I finally decided to pull the trigger & took the plunge late last week. It took so long because of 2 potential issues (in my eyes) -the EGR and the AMT. I was a diesel mechanic before my current job & I changed out A LOT of EGR coolers -so that worried me quite a bit. But those engines I worked on were all turbocharged diesels with EGR coolers, so I can definitely see the differences there. I'm hoping for different results on the NA, gas powered Elio. As for the transmission, I was originally going to get a MT, but I figure for resale purposes later on, an automatic will be easier to off load to someone else. Plus my mom doesn't drive stick & I know she will definitely want to take it for a spin. I don't have any experience with an AMT, but I'm sure Elio will want to get it right before their initial release. Regardless, I feel the time is right to get in now. Seems like a pretty good community here too. Looking forward to the experience!!

Last edited:

MotorcycleKopp

Elio Aficionado
Reaction score
I'm currently at $100 all in, with the commitment to buy. I'm still debating on going for the full 1k.

Yeah I don't know much about what kind of reputation EGR coolers have in the automotive world, but I figure I'll have 36k to find out (with the warranty to cover me). It's good to hear that I'm not the only one with EGR concerns, who is still looking forward to finding out first hand haha.

Coss

Staff member
Reaction score
I'm currently at $100 all in, with the commitment to buy. I'm still debating on going for the full 1k.