• Welcome to Elio Owners! Join today, registration is easy!

You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

Enforcement Of Binding Commitment

Florida Guy

Elio Enthusiast
Reaction score
I would like to hear from some attorneys on this issue. It is my understanding that for a contract to be enforceable there must be consideration on both sides. That is each side must provide something to the other. A contract for me to give you money without your promise to provide a good or service would not be enforced by the courts. How does this fact effect our promise to purchase an Elio autocycle if they have not promised to provide one? While it is true that they have promised us a $300 discount in exchange for our "binding commitment" would this be enforced by the courts since our contract with ELIO does not NOT provide us a promise to actual get a vehicle? Attorney answers please?

Watashiwah

Elio Addict
Reaction score
I have a law degree although I do not presently practice. Although Contract Law is something that I have advised a few friends on my experience is limited.

With that said, it my unprofessional opinion that not only is this recent commitment 'unenforceable' but that this commitment would carry absolutely no weight whatsoever with the Department of Energy ATVM decision process. It is my belief that this new requirement is basked in misunderstanding and miscommunication.

Marshall

Elio Addict
Reaction score