• Welcome to Elio Owners! Join today, registration is easy!

You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

Did Elio Close On The Shreveport Plant?

JJ

Elio Fan
Reaction score
Sorry if this is a repost as I'm just getting into this forum. I read that Elio was supposed to close on the plant in Louisiana by end of July. Does anyone know if this actually happened? I also heard the first Elio's won't be rolling out unitl Sept. 2015 ;)

Jeff Porter

Elio Addict
Reaction score
Norton, KS; halfway between Kansas City and Denver
Sorry if this is a repost as I'm just getting into this forum. I read that Elio was supposed to close on the plant in Louisiana by end of July. Does anyone know if this actually happened? I also heard the first Elio's won't be rolling out unitl Sept. 2015 ;)

Hi JJ, welcome to the forum from Kansas. There's a search box in the upper right for future reference. Sometimes it's helpful, sometimes not. But no worries, we'll get you hooked up. The forum moderators may merge this thread to another thread, if appropriate.

For the Shreveport plant, if I remember correctly, the Caddo Parish Industrial Development Board bought the plant, then is renting it to a nat'l real estate group, IRG (I think), and then IRG is leasing about 1/3 of the plant to Elio Motors. It's possible that some of the supplier companies may set up shop in the plant too.

And yes, Sept 2015 is the last date I heard, probably 2-3 months ago. That is for production to start. Daily production counts will most likely be pretty low for the first few weeks, and maybe even months. But yes, production to start in roughly 13 months.

Neal

Elio Addict
Reaction score
Hi JJ, welcome to the forum from Kansas. There's a search box in the upper right for future reference. Sometimes it's helpful, sometimes not. But no worries, we'll get you hooked up. The forum moderators may merge this thread to another thread, if appropriate.