• Welcome to Elio Owners! Join today, registration is easy!

You can register using your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account, just click here.

Need To Convince The Wife

ternion

Elio Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a young professional in the Bay Area. I desperately want to be a part of this group with my own reservation (I'd get $250 all-in); but I am having a very tough time getting a blessing from my wife, even for a want-in.

She thinks Elios are:
  • not economically practical for my 12 mile commute or for our family of four (debatable)
  • for 'trendy liberal yuppies only' (a slightly negative connotation to her; also opinion)
  • unsafe (unproven)
  • ugly (opinion)
I'd appreciate any assistance on the best ways to counter these points. If I got one, she'd likely never drive it (I'd get a manual, and she can't drive manual), and this would be replacing an 18 mpg Tacoma dblcab as my commuter. Money isn't the issue, and I know I can do it regardless of her blessing, life would just be much easier if she was swayed.

Last edited:

RKing

Elio Addict
Reaction score
"for 'trendy liberal yuppies only' (a slightly negative connotation to her; also opinion)"

REALLY..... just show her arround here, Lots of us fall no where near that area :)

My wife does not fully agree with my decision either, but my payoff is less than 3 years due to my commute. And I do not think she has ever been in my Regal, she HATES it, and I have put over 200,000 miles on it.
Unsafe,,, data pending , but then the leading cause of death is life
Ugly,, in the eye of the beholder

Give her time, and talk it up :)
Nice to have you here on the forum, welcome

Jim H

Elio Addict
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a young professional in the Bay Area. I desperately want to be a part of this group with my own reservation (I'd get $250 all-in); but I am having a very tough time getting a blessing from my wife, even for a want-in.

She thinks Elios are: